Afghanistan Politics

Here is another blog post that is part of the Afghanistan Lessons Learned series. With the recent postings about Karzai's statements and the arguing back and forth between our country's government I figured it would be good to provide some background on how the Afghanistan Government works.

Afghanistan’s 34 Provinces are divided into districts. The number of districts has changed with the division or merging into other districts. The 325 districts that existed prior to 1979 changed with a reorganization in 2004 to an even larger number of 397. Currently, the Afghan Ministry of Interior (MoI) recognizes 398 districts. As Afghanistan continues to organize itself, this number may change over time.

Political Structure

• Executive — President is head of both state and government

• Provincial governors for each of Afghanistan’s 34 provinces appointed by the president

• Legislative — National Assembly consists of two houses:

• Lower- Wolesi Jirga (the House of the People)

• Responsibility for making and ratifying laws and approving the actions of the president

• Upper- Meshrano Jirga (the House of Elders)

• Advisory role with veto power

• Judicial — Supreme Court

• All justices (nine, including Chief Justice) appointed by the president and approved by the Wolesi Jirga
• Subordinate by high courts and appeals courts


















I hope that clears some things up

1 comment:

  1. Minister Atmar (Ministry of Interior) has resigned due to the attacks on the Peace Jirga.